Simple Pleasures / Woolgathering

A Bit of a Buzz about Dublin…

I had two appointments in town this morning and, between times, went for a little wander. I’m not in the city centre as much these days and it was strange to walk down South William Street and see so many businesses closed or closing, including one of my favourite Indian restaurants, Maloti, where the food was based on all kinds of Indian festivals and the Peshwari nan tasted like cake… *sob*

But just around the corner on Drury Street, I’m glad to say it’s a different story – there is definitely a bit of a buzz in this little quarter! It’s long been the home to such stalwarts as Jenny Vander’s vintage emporium, Smock’s designer boutique and Blazing Salads yummy nosh, but now there’s a host of chic little shops covering everything from high quality vintage clothing, hand-made goods and new designers, macarons, clothing alterations and grooming.

I first discovered Horse and June Vintage Clothing through their blog and when I saw the shop in the flesh today, it verily took my breath away! Unfortunately, it was closed so I couldn’t step in for a browse but the window display was so achingly beautiful and sophisticated, it won’t be very long before I do.

I did manage a quick stop in the fun and quirky Om Diva, a fab little boutique where the lovely Clarabelle explained they offer a range of their own designs – very much an 80’s pop vibe to the current collection (sale now on!) – a vintage treasure trove in the basement and Atelier 27 – a first floor showcase of clothing, jewellery and accessories by new Irish designers. These include De Loup Designs, Aisling Ahern Millinery, Amy McAlinden, Tokiki, Capulet & Montague, Rose & Voom, Aliquo and Katie Harte – My Pure Harte – whose beautiful dresses were featured in an Etsy Ireland Easter photo shoot by Lisa O’Dwyer, along with our sister shop Grace & Favour ‘s crochet goodies. Small world… Om Diva also host Sip and Stitch courses where you can brush up on your needle-crafts over a civilised glass of wine – hear hear!

Cocoa Atelier, I had to rush past with my eyes averted, as I believe licking plate glass is a public order offence, but O – M – G… *drool*

Davey Davey is new hair boutique with a very simple, stylish interior and, even just walking past, looked like a haven of calm – none of your rattling, ‘So where you goin’ on your holidays?’ coiffeuse types here…

Fitz Alterations is a fantastic shop-front clothing alterations service, with upmarket changing rooms, on-the-spot dressmakers and tailors and can even do a 1 Hour Express service for those fashion emergencies. I would imagine sitting smack between Jenny Vander, Horse and June and Om Diva’s vintage mecca’s, to help custom fit those retro togs, is the perfect place to be!

With so much doom and gloom around, it’s heartening to find new businesses taking a leap of faith and transforming little pockets of the city. Drury Street is now top of my list next time I want to indulge my Marie Antoinette fantasy (which is so much more often than you might think…)

Ah, cake. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

3 thoughts on “A Bit of a Buzz about Dublin…

  1. Pingback: crafty blog update 12th-25th June 2011 « Irish Knitting & Crochet

Leave a Reply

